Comedy, experience, freedom, life, Writing Challenges

Wheels in Motion

For days, I struggled with the dreaded question – What should I write about? It felt like the pipes in my brain had been welded shut and the old rusty ideas were swirling around desperately trying to find an out. It was like constant rejection where I told myself ” Nope. Not this. Not today”.

These hard days are when I have literally push myself to even attempt writing a few lines. Nothing comes easily and even after trying so hard to focus, I feel like Atlas carrying the world. Even after all the whining and grinding, I just shelve it to start afresh. I cannot tell you how many unfinished pieces are cluttered all around my laptop!

writers_block_cnh

Then there are the easy days where things just click. I simply cannot wait to get started. There are at least five amazing ideas and each one of them turns into something that I would be proud of. Sentences are already taking shape in my head. All I need to do is, direct my hands to the keyboard and type away to glory. The feeling of content that fills me at the end of this is just …. Ah!

Each day is different from the one before and tomorrow is still a mystery. On a few days I struggle and on some I simply don’t. But I realized that what matters is that I continue to write.

Writing is definitely hard work. You have to filter your emotion to the point where you can describe it in its purest form. You have to edit, critique yourself to the point that sometimes self-doubt kicks in. Not satisfied, you subject it to the scrutiny of peers and elders. Even though it may never be perfect you keep at it continuously. Why? Because you are a writer  😉

4 thoughts on “Wheels in Motion”

Drop A Line..

