experience, freedom, friend, life

A Letter to Pessimism

Dear Pessimism,

Subject: Request to Shape up or Ship out

I write this letter to tell you that we are not working out anymore. More often now than before, you pounce on the slightest self-doubt in me and amplify it to scales unimaginable. Every time I find renewed hope and belief, you are patiently waiting to strike again. Your force is beyond measure; Your existence is beyond justification. You make my head spin in vicious circles by posing the conundrum “What If”.  After each bout, I promise to never let myself be controlled by you again. I build higher walls and put more locks but you always manage to find your way back into my head.

I wish we could go back to being how we were in the past. You sought to offer me clarity in thought and sight instead of the mist that swirls inside me these days. I would always look to you for thinking objectively. Whatever you revealed to me was a fact. With a strong belief in self and a pinch of you, I was able to deal with any hiccups in my life. What has changed now? Why are we on opposite teams now?pessimism

I want you to be my friend again; instead of clouding my vision, I want you to be a part of my eyes to see a clearer and brighter future. Can we work this out? Cos how much ever I deny it, I just cannot throw you out of my life.

Inspired by the WordPress Daily Prompt

2 thoughts on “A Letter to Pessimism”

  1. Good one! But allow it to be in the opposition team because if it comes back to your team,the time and energy spent in managing it will be more than what you would spend in countering it.

Drop A Line..

