Roger Federer

Out walks the man onto the court
Calm and confident his poise
Raring to go and guard his fort
As the crowd makes some noise17_for_roger

“Heads” is the call on the coin toss
Before walking down to the baseline
Acknowledges his opponent across.
Silence prevails as he unfolds his design

With a simple touch the genius explodes
Dangerous aces whizzing down the line
His serves have no cheat codes
The repertoire of his shots, a gold mine

The vintage single-handed back hand
Lo! Beauty to behold is that drop shot
PeRFection personified is his forehand
Cheeky volleys, the opponent is caught!

A champion’s nature is something so rare,
Aggressive and lethal – a cheetah’s agility
When revealed, in awe I can only stare
Never say die attitude – a phoenix’s ability

His every victory serves as an inspiration
His every loss teaches me to be humble
Watching him play is indeed salvation
This man is just incomparable!

He pushes me to strive for perfectionfederer
His iron-will propels me through hardship
A guide when I am lost without direction
Courage I derive from this idol-worship

He forces me to believe in myself when no one does
From him, I learned to never ever lose hope,
Treat losses and victories alike without a fuss
And confidently tread many a slippery slope.

Deep in my soul I strongly believe,
In the power of this connection,
His influence innate in all I achieve
My role model, My mentor & My inspiration.

The star of tennis shines brightly
Worshiped as an Emperor
Called the Greatest of All Time rightly
People behold – Roger Federer!

Poem #24 for National Poetry Writing Month Challenge

One thought on “Roger Federer

Drop A Line..

