I’m a Child

I’m a child
I’m supposed to have fun
Instead I toil in the hot sun

I’m a child
I’ m supposed to have friends
Instead I’m alone in life’s bendschild_labour

I’m a child
I’m supposed to relax n play
Instead I work hard all day

I’m a child
I’m supposed to have an education
Instead I daily fight starvation

I’m a child,
I’m supposed to have a childhood
Instead my wishes aren’t understood

I’m a child,
All I want is to live my age,
Someone to save me from this cage

I’m a child,
I hope to have my turn too.
A chance to make my dreams come true!

Poem #18 for National Poetry Writing Challenge

10 thoughts on “I’m a Child

  1. thank you for sharing that

  2. I really like this. It’s well written, meaningful, and has great rhythm.
    God Bless,
    Donna

  3. Nice one, Rohini :) Here’s a related video I just saw today: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151620528407658

Drop A Line..

